My personal path to zombie preparedness

I started ZombiePrep.net to help me in my preparations to become ready for the impending disaster that a zombie outbreak would (and probably will) cause.  I want to make some real progress here, and I expect to be able to accomplish this better by sharing my ideas and actions, and get yours in return.

Where I’m at now:

As of right now, the day I started the site, I’m a 32 year-old man living in Phoenix, Arizona in the United States.  I’ve got a family, my wife and 3-year-old daughter, and they are the reason I’m taking the zombie threat so seriously.  Their chances of survival are better if I can help protect them.

All of my preparations up to this point have been theory only.  I’ve read some of the best zombie survival books available, but I haven’t put what I’ve learned to use. In my professional life, I’m a database administrator, which means I spent long hours sitting in front of computer using my brain instead of my muscles.  The result?  I’m overweight (like many Americans) and I doubt I’d last long in a severe zombie outbreak.  This is NOT okay with me.

Where I want to be:

I’m not looking for ripped abs or a mixed martial arts title, nor do I want a basement like Charlton Heston’s rumored armory.  No, what I want is the assurance that I’ll have what it takes to survive during the unthinkable zombie apocalypse (a.k.a. the Necropocalypse).   I want to be fit and ready to fight during an unexpected outbreak.  I want the endurance to fight a mob of zombies, and to escape an overrun city.  I want the ideal zombie survival kit, but I also want to be able to survive without my kit.  Most importantly, I want my family to survive and persevere when the world is falling apart.

I’ll cover my current physical status in more detail in coming posts.

Do I really believe this stuff?:

In a word, yes.  I believe that it is only a matter of time until something triggers an outbreak that closely resembles zombie threats seen in movies, games, and fiction.  Possible triggers?  We’ll discuss that in-depth later, but the trigger doesn’t really matter.  What matters is that our world is a fragile place, and any number of things could change our lives dramatically.  I want to be ready for it.

Furthermore, natural disasters happen every day.  If you are prepared for the zombie apocalypse, you’re prepared for anything.

Stay strong, stay smart, and stay alive!

One response to “My personal path to zombie preparedness

  1. i think i have all the things i need 12 years of training hole bunch of weapons my choice 2 screw drivers and a b bat and i have barricade metrials and a run away place i also have alot of ffffooooooooddddd

Leave a Reply

